Library Information
Strategic Plan Download
Download Mitcham Community News

Council Elections - November 2014

Do You Want to Become an Elected Member?

If you are thinking about standing as a candidate to become an Elected Member at the November Local Government elections, here is some essential information.

Council held an information session for potential candidates on Monday 25 August at 7pm. Click here to access the powerpoint presentation made on the night.

If you missed this session you are welcome to attend the same session (other than a small amount of local content) which is being run at neighbouring Councils on the following dates:

City of Burnside 7pm, Wednesday, 27 August 2014, Linden Room, 401 Greenhill Rd, Tusmore
City of Marion 6.30pm, Tuesday, 2 September 2014, 245 Sturt Rd, Sturt
City of Unley 7pm, Wednesday, 10 September 2014, 181 Unley Rd, Unley

Candidate Nomination Kits are now available from the Council Offices at 131 Belair Rd, Torrens Park or on-line from the Electoral Commission SA.

For more information call 8372 8837.

Key Dates

Friday 8 August 2014 Council Voters Roll now CLOSED

9.30 am - 12.45 pm
Saturday 16 August 2014
LG House, 148 Frome St, Adelaide


7 pm, Monday 25 August 2014
Council Chambers
131 Belair Rd, Torrens Park

Candidate Briefing Session - COMPLETED

Tuesday 2 September 2014

Nominations open

12 noon, Tuesday 16 September 2014

Nominations Close
4 pm, Tuesday 16 September 2014 Draw for positions on ballot paper
Monday 20 to Friday 24 October 2014 Mail out of voting material to electors
5 pm, Friday 7 November 2014 Close of voting
9 am, Saturday 8 November 2014 Commencement of scrutiny and count

What Do Elected Members Do?

There are some specific roles which an elected member is expected to perform. Elected Members:

  • represent the interests of ratepayers and residents
  • provide leadership and guidance to the community
  • act as a conduit between the community and Council
  • attend Council meetings and other workshops and briefings
  • participate in Council’s decision making
  • participate in the civic activities of Council
  • participate in setting Council’s strategic directions
  • oversee the Council budget, including its resource allocation, expenditure and service delivery

How Much Time Will You Need to Commit?

When you take on the role of elected member you are committing yourself to a number of hours extra work each month. There are Council meetings to attend, agenda papers and other reports to read. To assist you in your role there will also be briefings and workshops conducted by staff and other professionals. Attendance at community events is also recommended as this is how you will get to know your community and find out what is important.

Allowances and Expenses

While the role of an elected member is not a paid position, an allowance is paid to cover some of your costs. Elected Member allowances are set before each new Council term by the State Remuneration Tribunal. The new Council will receive the following allowances:

Mayor: $76,000

Councillors: $19,000

Elected members are also entitled to claim for reimbursement of some expenses such as prescribed travel costs and child care.

Advice for potential candidates

  • you must be an Australian citizen
  • make sure you are on the State Electoral roll, or Council’s Voters roll if you are not already on it
  • do some research about Council and its functions and services
  • come to a Council meeting to see how meetings are conducted and the matters which are discussed
  • you will receive an intensive induction program should you be elected to Council

If you would like information on becoming an elected member of Council, contact Meredith Nunan on or 8372 8837.

In Search of Women Councillors

Free information sessions are being held for women who are interested in running for the 2014 Local Government elections. For more information, click on the link below.

Information sessions for women candidates(537 kb)

Election Signs and Caretaker Policies

Frequently Asked Questions

All questions asked by candidates and prospective candidates, together with the answers provided by the Administration, are available here.


Find us on FacebookTwittereNews
City of Mitcham -ABN 92 180 069 793
131 Belair Road, Torrens Park SA 5062
T: +61 8 8372 8888 | F: +61 8 83728101
Last date modified: 2014-08-27T22:20:57
SA Councils MapsSnap Send Solve